Sunday, February 11, 2007

Breaking News: World Cup Squad Selected Early?

Zee News is the first to break with the story (around 16:20 GMT or 21:50 IST) that the Indian 15 for the World Cup has been finalised today, though the official squad announcement will only be made on February 12. They are saying that

The unlucky contenders who missed a place in the team were Suresh Raina, Ramesh Powar and Gautam Gambhir. Despite good overall performances Powar did not manage to secure his place in the squad.

The team for the Cup consists of six specialist batsmen – Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa, Virender Sehwag (openers), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh; five fast bowlers – Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, S Sreesanth, Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan; two spinners – Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh and two wicket keepers – M S Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik.

We are still awaiting official confirmation of this list, but for now we have the pleasure of noting that this is precisely the squad we had predicted would be selected.